How To Travel To Canada Without Visa – A Canada Travel Guide

How To Travel To Canada Without Visa: Most people need either a visa or an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) to travel to Canada. But not both. Some people may need just a passport to travel to Canada. However, traveling to Canada without a visa is possible, but you must come from one of the visa-exempt countries or regions. Here, Tontimes brings you tips on how to travel to Canada without a visa.

Canada is one of the countries that you can travel to with just an eTA or a passport. However, this depends on some conditions. The conditions include the following things stated below: To Travel to Canada Without Visa

  • the type of travel document you are traveling with;
  • Where your travel documents were issued. That is, the country that issued your travel document;
  • your Country/Nationality; and
  • Means/how you will travel to Canada.

Therefore, your flight to Canada may be delayed or prevented if you do not have the right documents, such as a valid eTA or visa.

How To Travel To Canada Without Visa
To Travel To Canada Without Visa

Is It Possible To Travel To Canada Without Visa?

This is one of the questions that so many people have been asking recently. Of course, yes, you can travel to Canada without a visa but there are conditions attached. You can travel to Canada with either a visa, Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA), or a valid passport.

See How To Travel To Canada Without Visa

To travel to Canada without a visa doesn’t mean you can just wake up and move to Canada without any documents. It means that there are other documents one can use to travel to Canada and not necessarily a visa. So, if you are from one of the visa-exempted countries, just get your eTA and you are good to go.

How To Travel To Canada Without Visa
How To Travel To Canada Without Visa

How To Travel To Canada Without Visa – See What to Do

Below are a group of persons that can travel to Canada without a visa. These people just need a valid passport or eTA.

Canadian Citizens: Citizens of Canada, including dual citizens, require a valid Canadian passport. Also, American Canadians can travel with a valid Canadian or U.S. passport.

Canadian Permanent Residents: Permanent residents in Canada must have a permanent resident card or permanent resident travel document.

U.S Citizens: Any U.S. citizen traveling to Canada must carry proper identification such as a valid U.S. passport.

U.S Lawful permanent residents: Lawful permanent residents of the United States must show these documents for all modes of travel to Canada beginning April 26, 2022.

  1. a valid passport from their country of nationality or an equivalent acceptable travel document, and
  2. a green card or equivalent valid proof of status in the United States.

eTA eligible/Visa-exempted travelers

In order to board their flights to Canada, the following travelers require an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA). However, these travelers do not need an eTA if entering by land or sea. For instance, driving from the U.S. or coming by bus, train, or boat, including a cruise ship. Therefore, if you are from any of the countries listed below you don’t need a visa to travel to Canada.

The countries or regions are as follows:

  1. Andorra
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. British citizen
  5. Bahamas
  6. Barbados
  7. British National Overseas
  8. Belgium
  9. British overseas citizen (re-admissible to the United Kingdom)
  10. British overseas territory citizen with citizenship through birth, naturalization, descent, or a registration in one of the British overseas territories of:
    • Anguilla
    • Bermuda
    • The British Virgin Islands
    • Cayman Islands
    • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
    • Gibraltar
    • Montserrat
    • Pitcairn Island
    • Saint Helena
    • Turks and Caicos Islands
  11. British Subject with a right of abode in the United Kingdom
  12. Brunei Darussalam
  13. Bulgaria
  14. Chile
  15. Croatia
  16. Cyprus
  17. Czech Republic
  18. Denmark
  19. Estonia
  20. Finland
  21. France
  22. Germany
  23. Greece
  24. Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China must have a passport issued by Hong Kong SAR.
  25. Hungary
  26. Iceland
  27. Ireland
  28. Israel must have a national Israeli passport
  29. Italy
  30. Japan
  31. Republic of Korea
  32. Latvia
  33. Liechtenstein
  34. Lithuania
  35. Luxembourg
  36. Malta
  37. Mexico
  38. Monaco
  39. Netherlands
  40. New Zealand
  41. Norway
  42. Papua New Guinea
  43. Poland
  44. Portugal
  45. Romania (electronic passport holders only)
  46. Samoa
  47. San Marino
  48. Singapore
  49. Slovakia
  50. Slovenia
  51. Solomon Islands
  52. Spain
  53. Sweden
  54. Switzerland
  55. Taiwan must have an ordinary passport issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Taiwan that includes the personal identification number
  56. United Arab Emirates
  57. Vatican City State must have a passport or travel document issued by the Vatican.

However, if you are not from the above-mentioned countries or regions, you need a visa to travel to Canada.

How To Travel To Canada Without Visa
How To Travel To Canada Without Visa

What Is Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA)?

eTA: An electronic travel authorization, or eTA, is a requirement for visa-exempt foreign nationals flying to or transiting through a country. It enables the destination or transit country to screen visitors prior to their arrival, increasing visibility and security.

Conclusion on How To Travel To Canada Without Visa

You have seen the easy and legal way to travel to Canada. As stated earlier, you can only travel to Canada with a visa or eTA, but not both. However, to travel to Canada without a visa, you need an eTA.

Was that helpful? Let us know your opinion in the comment box below. More so, don’t forget to share with your friends and loved ones on social media platforms.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *